Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898 | SUBSCRIBE

Your independent source for Harvard news since 1898


Overseer and HAA Director Elections

July-August 2020

On March 31, the Harvard Corporation and the Board of Overseers announced that the annual voting for new Overseers and elected directors of the Harvard Alumni Association (HAA), ordinarily running from April through mid May, would be postponed until early to mid July because of severe logistical problems imposed by the COVID-19 pandemic. For further details, visit June 16, 4:15 P.M.: Voting is now scheduled for July 1 through August 18.

Alumni vote by paper ballot or online; the results are usually announced on Commencement day (already postponed). Both the Overseer candidate slate proposed by the HAA nominating committee and the Harvard Forward-backed slate of candidates nominated by petition appear below, in ballot order as determined by lot. Both slates are covered in further detail at; biographies of all candidates appear at

For Overseer (six-year term):

Nominated by HAA committee

Diego A. Rodriguez, M.B.A. ’01, Palo Alto. Executive vice president, chief product and design officer, Intuit Inc.

David H. Eun ’89, J.D. ’93, New York City. Chief innovation officer, Samsung Electronics, and president, Samsung NEXT

Katherine Collins, M.T.S. ’11, Boston. Head of sustainable investing, portfolio manager of the Putnam Sustainable Future Fund and the Putnam Sustainable Leaders Fund, Putnam Investments

Raphael William Bostic ’87, Decatur, Georgia. President and CEO, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

Susan Morris Novick ’85, Old Westbury, N.Y. Senior vice president, Merrill Lynch; freelance journalist, The New York Times

Tracy K. Smith ’94, Princeton, N.J. Chair of the Lewis Center for the Arts, Berlind professor of the humanities, Princeton University; twenty-second poet laureate of the United States

Miki Uchida Tsusaka ’84, M.B.A. ’88, Tokyo. Managing director and senior partner, Boston Consulting Group

Ryan Wise, Ed.L.D. ’13, Des Moines. Director, Iowa Department of Education; dean-designate, Drake University School of Education

(Diego Rodriguez and Ryan Wise are current Overseers—since 2018 and 2019, respectively—completing the unexpired terms of Overseers who concluded their service early.)

Nominated by petition

Margaret (Midge) Purce ’17, Portland, Ore. Professional soccer player, Sky Blue FC and U.S. Women’s National Soccer Team

Jayson Toweh, S.M. ’19, Atlanta. Program analyst, Environmental Protection Agency

Lisa Bi Huang, M.P.A. ’19, San Francisco. Chief financial officer and vice president of growth, OZÉ

John Beatty ’11, Seattle. Senior product manager,, Inc.

Thea Sebastian ’08, J.D. ’16, Washington, D.C. Policy counsel, Civil Rights Corps


For elected director (three-year term):

Santiago Creuheras, A.L.M. ’00, A.L.M. ’01, C.S.S. ’01, Mexico City. Senior consultant on sustainable infrastructure and energy, Inter-American Development Bank

Kelsey Trey Leonard ’10, Hamilton, Ontario. Banting Postdoctoral Fellow, McMaster University

Michael D. Lewis ’93, Cambridge. Strategic technology adviser, iCorps Technologies

Mallika J. Marshall ’92, Weston, Massachusetts. Medical reporter, CBS Boston; physician, Massachusetts General Hospital

David R. Scherer ’93, Chicago. CEO and principal, Origin Investments; co-founder, One Million Degrees

Sajida H. Shroff, Ed.M. ’95, Dubai, United Arab Emirates. CEO, Altamont Group

Benjamin D. Wei ’08, New York City. CEO, Nova Invite

Joyce Y. Zhang ’09, San Francisco. CEO, Alariss Global

Vanessa Zoltan, M.Div. ’15, Medford, Massachusetts. Co-founder and CEO, Not Sorry Productions

You Might Also Like: